PA / Carer / Support worker / Home carer - Dartford
Oil & Gas Job Search
Dartford, UK
3d ago

PA / Carer / Support worker / Home carer

Find out exactly what skills, experience, and qualifications you'll need to succeed in this role before applying below.

  • Dartford AskJules are agents for university students with physical disabilities who choose to employ likeminded Personal Assistants to provide their care and support.
  • Job Title : Personal Assistant I am a 21-year-old female and I have Spinal Muscular Atrophy type 2 which has profoundly weakened my voluntary muscles.

    As a result, I am a full-time powered wheelchair user, my respiratory system is compromised and the majority or my nutrition is met via a gastrostomy.

    I have nearly completed my 3 rd year at the University of Sussex (studying from home) studying MSci chemistry and am starting my 4 th year back on campus in September.

    I am currently living at home with my Mum, Dad, dog, guinea pig and gerbil.

    I enjoy being outdoors and spend a lot of my time in the summer visiting National Trust parks and zoos.

    I am a massive Disney, Disneyland Paris, LEGO and musicals fan I also enjoy music, my favourite bands being The Script, McFly and The Vamps.

    When I am at home.

    I enjoying baking and crafting using my smart cutting machine.

    I am hoping to start a small Etsy business this summer with physical support from my PAs.

    Pre-covid I enjoyed shopping and going to the cinema.

    I am able to make my own decisions and direct my care and support.

    I need PAs to be able to provide the support required at my direction and understand that I may wish things to be done differently to someone else.

    It is the job of my Personal Assistant to assist in meeting my personal, social and domestic needs as a disabled person, and any other day-to-day requirements or activities, as a result of this assistance I hope to lead an individual, independent and active life.

    As my Personal Assistant you should be able to handle the physical tasks of moving and handling, pushing and bending, unless otherwise stated, you do not need to be physically strong to do certain tasks well, but it does help together with good general health.

    This position is to work 3 full days with our client at her home address in Dartford until September 2021 when she will be returning to study on campus at the University of Sussex in Brighton.

    However our often client returns home during term time for week ends and at other times, including Christmas and Easter holidays, reading weeks and during the summer holidays when she will require support again for 3 days each week.

    Hours : 8-hour shifts (10.00 am to 6.00 pm) 3 days per week Start Date : May 2021 Location : Dartford Pay & Benefits £11.

    50 per hour 5.6 weeks’ holiday pro rata Full UK driving licence required.

    Our client would require you to drive her automatic motability vehicle WAV.

    Qualities Here are some of the qualities I am looking for in my Assistant

  • Reliable and trustworthy
  • Able to accept responsibility
  • Self-motivated and work with initiative
  • Diligent and conscientious Responsibilities
  • Arrive at the agreed time ready to work
  • Give notice if you are going to be more than 10 minutes late
  • Communicate and discuss any problems that arise as soon as possible
  • Respect my privacy and maintain a professional approach at all times, being careful to treat your working relationship as confidential, including the nature of the assistance provided
  • Understand and be mindful of my right to dignity, respect and independence
  • Respect my possessions and equipment and only use the telephone, television, radio etc.
  • with prior consent Training As you will be meeting my personal needs, for the most part the assistance required will be learnt through us working together however when required practical training and guidance will be provided.

    AskJules is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of vulnerable adults.

    All applicants must be willing to undergo the appropriate screening, including checks with past employers and an Enhanced Disclosure via the Disclosure and Barring Service.

    PA / Carer / Support worker / Home carer

    Recommended Skills

    Information Technology

    Report this job
    checkmark

    Thank you for reporting this job!

    Your feedback will help us improve the quality of our services.

    Apply
    My Email
    By clicking on "Continue", I give neuvoo consent to process my data and to send me email alerts, as detailed in neuvoo's Privacy Policy . I may withdraw my consent or unsubscribe at any time.
    Continue
    Application form