JAC1 - Personal Assistant/Support Worker
LC Direct Payments
Markyate, Albans, England, GB
1d ago
source : GOV.UK

Markyate, St Albans

3 hrs per week Tues 4pm-7pm

£11 per hour

Care driver essential

Personal Assistant Job Description

I am a primary school aged boy who has Downs Syndrome and Epilepsy. I need a personal assistant to assist me in all areas of my personal, domestic and social life, both at home and in the community.

Your role is to encourage me to interact with you and be as independent as possible in my own home.

You must be reliable, able to work 4pm 7pm, you must respect my privacy and understand my need for confidentiality. You will work under my mum’s / dad’s direction.

Personal Assistant Tasks

The work involves some or all of the following tasks. Some tasks will be weekly, others occasionally. As my needs vary, it is important that you are flexible about the work and agree to undertake other reasonable tasks.

Personal Requirements

  • Support to get in / out of bed or wheelchair
  • Support with dressing and undressing
  • Assist with bathing
  • Assist with using the toilet
  • Assist with cleaning ears, hair, skin etc.
  • Support with physiotherapy exercises
  • Support with feeding / drinking
  • Read and sing to me
  • Use basic Makaton signs with me as directed by my mum / dad
  • Interact with me e.g. use hand over hand to get me to clap
  • Domestic Needs

  • Prepare and administer meals, drinks and medication
  • Tidy up after meals, bath and play
  • Change my bed linen
  • Assist me to move around my home by using the hoist or wheelchair
  • Clean my toys
  • General Assistance

  • To help me with any chosen activity, inside or outside my home, e.g. going for a walk
  • Assist me into and out of my car / van
  • Assist with getting to and taking part in social activities e.g. swimming
  • Personal Assistant’s General Responsibilities

  • Respect me
  • Arrive at the agreed time, ready to work
  • Give as much notice as possible if you are going to be late or can’t come
  • Discuss any problems with me as soon as possible
  • Respect my possessions / equipment and use them only with my consent
  • Only use your mobile phone with prior permission from my mum / dad
  • Report this job
    checkmark

    Thank you for reporting this job!

    Your feedback will help us improve the quality of our services.

    Apply
    My Email
    By clicking on "Continue", I give neuvoo consent to process my data and to send me email alerts, as detailed in neuvoo's Privacy Policy . I may withdraw my consent or unsubscribe at any time.
    Continue
    Application form